BBC SSO April 2019

  • Classical

The Soviet authorities called Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony an “optimistic tragedy”. A massive, defiant act of self-assertion in the face of official tyranny, it’s a monumental climax to a concert that begins with Stravinsky’s Symphonies of wind instruments. This concert also sees Colin Currie, one of Scotland’s (and the world’s) finest percussionists in a performance of Kurt Schwertsik’s charming marimba concerto. 

Martyn Brabbins, Conductor

Symphonies of wind instruments (c.9’)

Now you hear me, now you don’t (c.15’)

Symphony No.10 (c.53’)

Dates + Times